Where the Great Wall of China Starts and Ends

We all know what is the great wall of china… but not all of us know where it starts and ends.
The Great Wall of China is a series of fortifications built through centuries and dynasties.
Each section differs in age and construction method, and they aren’t always connected.
So we have the great wall scattered throughout China with multiple start and end points.
We can chart the course of the main Great Wall line following Ming constructions which touches the most western and eastern point reaches by the wall.
The western terminus is located in Gansu province, the Jiayu Pass.
The part of the wall inside Shanhai Pass that meets the sea is named the “Old Dragon Head” and it’s considered the traditional end of the Great Wall and the “First Pass Under Heaven”.

File:Great Wall of China location map.PNG

This entry was posted in Good to Know / Science, Where to Go and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s